To be able to accomplish its Mission and Vision FAWE Kenya has been given an opportunity by FAWE Regional Secretariat which is an agent of the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC) in the UK to take part in nominating female students for Masters and PhD Degree programs.

However, the female students to be selected must be drawn from the FAWE Kenya Chapter membership.

Brief description:

The Commonwealth Scholarships are for students from developing Commonwealth countries for Master’s (one-year), PhD, and split-site PhD study in the UK. These scholarships are funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID). The prospectus and selection criteria, along with full details of the scholarships and information on how to apply are available for candidates on the Commission’s website at:  http://bit.ly/cscuk-scholarships-developing-cw


In addition to the eligibility requirements outlined in the Scholarship Prospectus, FAWE Kenya will only nominate female candidates. Priority shall be given to;

  • Candidates who have contributed to FAWE Kenya work, mission and vision in the past or
  • Candidates must show commitment that they will contribute to FAWE Kenya Vision and Mission within their communities upon completion of the course.
  • Candidates with first degree in Mathematics, Science or Technology are encouraged to apply.
  • Past FAWE Kenya beneficiaries.
  • Candidates that will contribute to the promotion of girl’s education and gender equity and equality in education.

Please note that in addition to the deadline for candidates to submit their application through the Electronic Application System by 19th December 2018; all applications (hard copies) must be submitted to FAWE Kenya Chapter by 5th December 2018.

The Commission also expects that all supporting documentation (two references and transcripts for Masters and PhD candidates and at least one supporting statement for PhD candidates) be received in their offices in order for candidates to be eligible to be considered for a scholarship by 4th January 2019.

Application instructions:

All application must be made through FAWE Kenya Chapter Secretariat Office. All applicants are expected to have completed an application form using the Commonwealth Scholarship Committee Electronic Application System (EAS) by 19th December 2018.

NB: All applicants will be expected to complete the CSC application online, information on how to use the EAS, including detailed guides, is available at http://cscuk.dfid.gov.uk/apply/applicants/

Important to note:

19th December, 2018- Deadline for completion of the EAS application online.

5th December, 2018- Deadline for submitting the printed hard copy applications to FAWE Kenya by applicants.


The results of the CSC selection will be announced in June 2019.  Successful candidates will be informed directly and copies of nomination letters sent to the FAWE Regional Secretariat.