Forum for African Women Educationalists (FAWE) Kenya Chapter is a membership Organization and an affiliate of FAWE Pan African Regional Organization.

FAWE Kenya Chapter is therefore a member of the FAWE Network in Sub-Saharan Africa, working together with other 33 African countries to achieve equality and equity in education across the continent.

FAWE Kenya Chapter has a mandate to support girls and women to acquire education for development, and therefore envisions a society where gender parity and equality in education and training prevail.

To be able to accomplish its Mission and Vision FAWE Kenya has been given an opportunity by FAWE Regional Secretariat which is an agent of the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC) in the UK to take part in nominating female students for Masters and PhD Degree programs.

However, the female students to be selected must be drawn from the FAWE Kenya Chapter membership.

Brief description:

The Commonwealth Scholarships are for students from developing Commonwealth countries for Master’s (one-year), PhD, and split-site PhD study in the UK. These scholarships are funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID). The prospectus and selection criteria, along with full details of the scholarships and information on how to apply are available for candidates on the Commission’s website at:

Field(s) of study:

All subject areas are eligible for consideration, although the CSC’s selection criteria give priority to those applications that demonstrate strong relevance to development.

Candidates are requested to apply for a course of study at a UK university which has agreed to offer a tuition fee contribution for 2019.


In addition to the eligibility requirements outlined in the Scholarship Prospectus, FAWE Kenya will only nominate female candidates.

Priority shall be given to;

  • Candidates who have contributed to FAWE Kenya work, mission and vision in the past or
  • Candidates must show commitment that they will contribute to FAWE Kenya Vision and Mission within their communities upon completion of the course.
  • Candidates with first degree in Mathematics, Science or Technology are encouraged to apply.
  • Past FAWE Kenya beneficiaries.
  • Candidates that will contribute to the promotion of girl’s education and gender equity and equality in education.

Please note that in addition to the deadline for candidates to submit their application through the Electronic Application System by 19th December 2018; all applications (hard copies) must be submitted to FAWE Kenya Chapter by 5th December 2018.

The Commission also expects that all supporting documentation (two references and transcripts for Masters and PhD candidates and at least one supporting statement for PhD candidates) be received in their offices in order for candidates to be eligible to be considered for a scholarship by 4th January 2019. 

Application instructions:

All application must be made through FAWE Kenya Chapter Secretariat Office. All applicants are expected to have completed an application form using the Commonwealth Scholarship committee Electronic Application System (EAS) by 19th December 2018.

NB: All applicants will be expected to complete the CSC application online, information on how to use the EAS, including detailed guides, is available at

Important information

  1. Please note that when applying online, applicants when prompted should type UK as country and then they will find FAWE as nominating agent. Last year some applicants did not follow these instructions and therefore could not be considered as FAWE applicants. Please let us know if you need support in any way.
  2. Deadline for applications is 19 December 2018. The CSC will not accept any applications which are not submitted via the Electronic Application System (EAS) to the nominating agency in the candidate’s home country. All applications must be made through a nominating agency; CSC does not accept direct applications from the candidates. 
  3.  All applicants must submit the required supporting documentation to CSC:
  • proof of citizenship/refugee status
  • all university academic transcripts
  • two references for Master’s and PhD candidates
  • one supporting statement from a UK institution for PhD candidates


To apply for these scholarships, the applicant must:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be British Protected Person.
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country.
  • Be available to start academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2019.
  • By October 2019, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) honours standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree).
  • Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship.
  • Candidates must have secured admission to preferred universities in advance of their scholarship application.

Important to note:

19th December, 2018– Deadline for completion of the EAS application online.

5th December, 2018- Deadline for submitting the printed hard copy applications to FAWE Kenya by applicants.


The results of the CSC selection will be announced in June 2019.  Successful candidates will be informed directly and copies of nomination letters sent to the FAWE Regional Secretariat.

For more information on the FAWE Kenya membership you can visit or email info@localhost .